Staff Network Drives
Logging on to PCs
When the PC is switched on and Windows operating system has loaded, a netware logon box is displayed. The box contains two areas that need to be filled in manually: the USERNAME and PASSWORD boxes.
Once you have sucessfully logged into the Novell it is important to know the file sharing and file storage options available on the DCU network. By double-clicking the 'My Computer' icon on your desktop you will see the following network drive mappings.
This is your personal file storage area of 100MB on the network. No other users have access to the information stored here.
This is your departmental share area. On the L: drive there is an 'ALL' folder, everyone in the same department has full access (read/write/delete) to this 'ALL' folder. There is an initial space restriction of 100MB on this folder (additional space is given when required). The L: drive can also have 'special sub-folders' setup for a specific requests, such as an admin group within the dept. with either just the admin group with full access and read only to the rest of the dept. or the admin group with full access to the folder and the rest of the dept. with no access. There is an initial space restriction of 50MB on these folders (additional space is given when required).
The purpose of this drive is for staff to upload thier lecture notes for students to access. By default both staff and students have read access to all information on this drive, Staff must contact the helpdesk to gain read/write access to their specific area (eg. Salis)
This is an inter-departmental share area. On the V: drive there is an 'Dummy' folder, all staff in DCU have read only access to this folder (this is given to stop errors occuring when you login). The V: drive has 'special' folders setup for a specific requests, such as for sharing confidential documents between departments. Both the creation of these folders and the access to them must be requested through the helpdesk. There is an initial space restriction of 50MB on these folders (additional space is given when required).
This is a scratch directory that acts as a shared public area for all staff. The purpose of the scratch drive is to offer a place where all staff have full read/write/delete access, for the temporary upload of files that can be shared between all staff. All files stored here can be viewed and deleted by any staff member, for this reason any confidiential information must not be saved here even if you have password portected the files, if you wnat to share confidential documents use the V: drive.
The X: drive is not backed-up and so any files stored here once deleted cannot be retrieved.
The X: drive is automatically purged (deleted) on a regular basis and once purged cannot be retrieved.
For these reasons only use the scratch drive X: as a tempory non-confidential file share area.
This is a Netware System drive that is mapped by default.